Anyone going to college? What's your major?

Discussion in 'Mostly Harmless (Serious Discussion)' started by MrDetective, Aug 9, 2016.

1. MrDetective

MrDetective Member

Hey guys, :D

I am studying at CSULB, and my current major is Japanese. It was my backup plan because I couldn't get into Computer Science. I thought I could become a translator for a video game company or some sort. Now I am thinking of double majoring in Finance or Marketing. I heard Accounting has a lot of math, and I did horribly in Calculus, so I don't think I can get into that. I was good at math in high school, though, but I haven't been taking math in 3 years, so I am not very good at it anymore. I wonder what I will learn in Finance, and how hard it's going to be. :O

I have an appointment on Friday to ask my counselor for advice. I'm just asking in advance if Japanese + Finance is a good combination. Would that get me a job in a game company? I don't actually know what I'll do with a B.A. in Finance, either. I just picked it because I heard it's better than Marketing and it's easy to get a job. I have a friend who is going into Nursing, and she wants to graduate in 2 years. Nurse majors make $5000 a month so I am wondering if I can get that kind of salary, too. :p

What about you guys? What are you studying, or what did you study? And what is your career? :)

2. Terro

Terro Well-Known Member

Stuff I learned from my years of school:

-Get into a major that has jobs. Passions are nice, but in the long run when you get out of school, what next?
    -Make sure you don't limit yourself. Japanese-only may be a stretch. Most jobs I'm finding, much prefer your to know computer and tech stuff. Lots of people I know actually took what are called 'programming bootcamp' just to have it look good on the resume, as jobs will see what you HAVE done, and not really what you CAN do.